Changes

So, its 3am. And I’m awake.  So you know what that means. Other than the fact that my body clock is wayyyy out of wack from working some insane hours last week — it means I am having an epiphany.

All my late-night or early-morning wake-ups (when I don’t have to be up) happen for a reason. This one was because I woke up and the first thought out of my brain was a giant epiphany.

Me: blargh, blumble, argheee, what the &%*$ time is it, why am I up, do I have to pee? nope. $*#! and I don’t even have to be up until 4:30. Am I hungry? I want to work for myself and be at home to see my kids grow up but still make money. Hmm did I ask what time it was yet? Why does Manfriend have all the blankets? *checks phone* Why don’t phones have a backlight that doesn’t burn my retinas? ITS 2:45AM ARE YOU INSANE BODY? Ooooo Bart Yasso tweeted me!

Okay, it was within the first thought.  Did you catch it? Can you find it up there? I colour coded it for those of you who are not used to waking up to epiphanies jumbled within crazy thoughts.  Also, just so you know, I work in an hour and fifteen minutes so I have a LOT of time to think about this epiphany this morning. And possibly go back to bed, because who in their right mind actually gets up to write about their ephiphanies.

Us. Admit it. You have a dream journal.

I searched for a fun youtube clip to put here — but found only disturbing things after googling “fun youtube clip dream journal.” That should teach me not to google when I’m tired.

On to the epiphany.

I really don’t want to spend the rest of my life working for other people. This epiphany comes amidst a week or two of unsuccessful interview opportunities, being really tired of some things at work, being tired of not being able to maintain a balanced life and my own hours.  I am hardworking, I am good at what I do and I am receiving recognition for it (in some way or another) at both jobs. But this just isn’t what I want to do forever.

It’s not even that I don’t want to work 80 hours a week forever. I would work 100 hours a week if it was doing something I love all the time.  So tonight, or today, or probably right after I open the store and we have that boring 2 hours before one customer walks in, I am going to make a list of all the things I love to do. And the ones I think I could make into a career I’m going to look into.

I’m in the middle of applying to school, and I am in the middle of figuring out my life’s direction (for the 370048th time… just ask my Mom). I’m getting tired. I’m almost 25. I know what I love to do and now – thanks to my inability to sleep because my brain had that magical idea to wake me up at 2:45am – I know I want to put one of my passions to work as my career. Which one? Well, I’m sure watching hockey isn’t going to be one of them (because I can’t run twitter for an NHL team while working for myself… although I would be a twitter personality for most teams gladly. Not the Chicago Blackhawks or the LA Kings… we got beef).

It will be a whole bunch of work and I have no idea what is going to come of it, but I know that at the end of the day I want to be able to work for myself and say “I built this.”

This post was originally for me to annouce a tiny hiatus. Luckily, that falls under the category of Changes as well! The blog is moving –> and is getting a makeover at the same time. I’ve been spending my free time reading HTML for dummies (I’m not even close to kidding) and I’m excited to put some of my new skills to the test.

So if in the interim (I’ll see you most likely Feb 3rd again) if you type my blog address into the URL box and nothing happens, don’t worry. I probably just accidentally deleted everything and I am building the blog up from the bottom up again.

Kind of like my life plan eh?

Any epiphanies lately? Any advice for a girl looking for direction, or one who is moving her blog? Any self-employed people out there willing to impart a little wisdom?

8 responses to “Changes

  1. I love this post!! I love this epiphanie!! Follow your heart and follow your gut!! I can’t wait to follow you on this life adventure and see what you end up doing. I also can’t wait to see your new blog!!

    • Ahhh thanks Brittany! I am hoping things get sorted with the blog soon as I feel so disconnected and MIA! I miss you all. I am so excited to be on this new adventure — now the school just has to let me in!

  2. Oh god yeah. I feel this one like no-one’s business. It’s going to be ok! Why can’t we just see the path ahead and blissfully trust that it will all turn out?! I cracked it and started my own business – I’ll let you know how that works out 😉

    • I would love to hear all about your business. We should have skype coffee. Where Kate sits in Australia with her coffee and Amalia sits in Vancouver with her bedtime tea, cause we are just that far apart hours wise. And we can talk shop! Everything will turn out and I have SO much faith in you and your business!

  3. I am not sure to tell you what direction to head in, but am glad you are excited about making changes and wish you all the best.

  4. Epiphanies are the best! It’s a good idea to write about them right when you have them…I should try that! Maybe I’d get more rest if I get it all off of my chest while it’s happening. Best of luck to you! And I hope you wouldn’t have to rebuild the blog from the bottom up, hehe. I had the same fear when I moved to self hosted! :-O

    • Honestly epiphanies are so helpful! When I have them and write them down right away it makes life easier. I keep a pen and paper by my bed so if something comes to me in the middle of the night I don’t have to worry about forgetting it, or think about it forever and then not be able to sleep! Moving the blog is taking forever so I’m hoping no more than few more days before I’m back up and “running”

Leave a Reply

