Weddings and Running

I am ready to run.

After my pulled shoulder, pinched nerve, broken toe and overly emotional week I am ready to hit the road.  The most exercise I’ve had since December 30th is stretching to ensure I’m limber while catching the bouquet at Manfriend’s cousins wedding (which I didn’t catch).

photo 4

I’m just going to take my ipod and let  my nike running app do the tracking because I left my beautiful Garmin in Vancouver so I didn’t lose it. I have lost many things while being here so this is not an absurd possibility.

I thought about taking my puppy but then decided that she would probably run after a squirrel, I would slip on ice and break something, given my track record. So at home she stays.

The cutie pie has been the object of all my attention since I’ve been home. She’s huge! When she stands on her hind legs she’s taller than me (at 5’7). I even bought her 50 dollars worth of toys and treats for Christmas. Which is way more than I spent on anyone else this year (except Manfriend).

photo 5

I love the dress I wore to the wedding. I loved the wedding itself! Gorgeous venue, gorgeous bride, awesome family to hang out with. And I got to spend some time with Manfriend’s Dad, who is just plain hilarious.

photo 3(1)

photo 3

Isn’t the room spectacular!? They got married at a local church with two pastors and it was a wonderfully short and sweet ceremony.

photo 2(1)

One thing I loved about this wedding was it wasn’t  a plated dinner but it wasn’t buffet style either. They brought trays of food to each table so you could take as much or as little as you want. This stopped me from overeating, and I took a huge bowl of salad and a little bit of pasta. It was a great way to serve food, because you could look at the menu and choose what you wanted to eat more of. My friend who was a vegetarian downed two bowls of pasta because the mains were all meat.

photo 1

The cupcakes were the same way too. There were mini ones of chocolate and vanilla but also mini carrot cupcakes. Portion control at its finest.

photo 2

And although Manfriend and I left our favours at the wedding, I thought they were perfect. Tiny hot chocolate packs for each person!

I love weddings, I love planning them and I love taking ideas from them. This was one of (if not the best) weddings I’ve been to in a while! They also had a photobooth, and those pictures are going to be awesome.

There are going to be some big and exciting changes coming to the blog to match the facelift I have planned for my life this year (not a literal facelift, fyi).

Hope your weeks are awesome and you’ve been out catching some new years goal/resolution fever!

9 responses to “Weddings and Running

  1. Seems like there are a lot of weddings going on in the blogosphere this week. I love weddings too. They always make me cry, out of happiness of course. 🙂

    • Me too! I loved this wedding. It was somewhat emotional as they did a tribute to past loved ones and my grandma is very very ill, but it was a gorgeous wedding and wonderful time!

  2. That wedding looked stunning!!! How magical:) and those cupcakes! I love weddings. What a sweet dog, I love my Holly.

    • I love dogs. Mainly mine. She has this elf I got her for christmas and she won’t put it down. Surprisingly she hasn’t eaten it yet but mainly just licks it, I think she is grooming her stuffy?

      The wedding was awesome. It was a good break from the craziness of other life!

  3. That looks like so much fun! What a gorgeous set-up.

    Most importantly, welcome back to the land of the runner! xxx

    • It was gorgeous and fun and actually one of the best I’ve been to in a while! Also — thank you Kate. I am very excited that I made it 4km. Tomorrow its supposed to be 13 degrees here and I’m PUMPED to get outside for a run.

  4. Pingback: New Years Resolutions! « Jen's adventures!

  5. I loveee weddings!! I haven’t been to one in far too long. You look adorablee and so do those cupcakes! While I can’t imagine running without my Garmin (separation anxiety much?) I wouldn’t want to risk losing it either!

    • Weddings are amazing, I love them a lot! Thank you 🙂 I felt awesome in that dress. The cupcakes were delicious and perfectly portion controlled.

      I missed my Garmin yesterday, I kept looking at my watch. Only to find it bare. But I have lost so much here that I’m happy I know its safely tucked in my desk drawer at home 🙂

Leave a Reply

