Winners and the cursed half marathon

Hello everyone!

I apologise for the slight delay in the announcement of the winners for last week’s Local Artist Giveaway but I have a good reason for it, and its pictured here. Introducing my beautiful shiny Vancouver Emergency Room bracelet which I can add to my collection. It is blue, and was more comfortable than most.

photo

I would say I’m accident prone but I think the word I’m looking for is more allergy-prone.  Who knew what it was this time. The best guess any of us has is chili peppers. So let’s add it to the list. All I know is one bite and I was in the emergency room, so I’m playing it safe from here on out. Eight minutes total from triage to a bed, so you know that they didn’t want to mess around.  Believe me, epipens and ambulances are NOT fun. Nor is leaving work. Ugh. Saturday was not a shining moment in my life. But, it happened, and now its over.

Anyways, I am very excited to announce that Solana has won the earrings from Elly Loo Creations and Elle has won the bowtie from Clippers Bow Ties! Email me at livetraveleatandrun@gmail.com with your addresses and I will get your prizes out to you! If I don’t hear from you within the next couple of days I will reach out to you both.

The Cursed Half

This half marathon is kicking my ass.

That’s the bottom line.

First I got off to a good start. Then, I got shin splints.

Shin Splint Monster

We fixed the shin splints and then I got pneumonia and bronchitis. Remember that time? On the Grouse Grind?

photo 4

Took four weeks to get over that and then I was in some sort of funk.

Then I banged my knee off the side of the bed frame in the middle of the night and took a serious chunk of flesh out of my leg.  Here’s my pictographic representation since I promised you I wouldn’t show you the real picture.

Untitled

Manfriend asked me if I was drawing a slip-n-slide. I told him that it was actually the light from our bathroom door. Then he asked me if I was having a rave in our bedroom, and I told him it was the time that I banged my knee off the edge of the bed and he didn’t wake up to my screams. He stopped talking then.

THEN after recovering from that (it’s still scabbed over) I went to the ER the day before a big 16km training run.  I don’t have any exciting pictures of that, since, you know, I was trying to breathe.  So forgive me.

And now there are 26 days before I run my first half.

TWENTY SIX! At least that’s more than 3 weeks.

So I couldn’t run the 16km yesterday because after a serious allergic reaction you have to have Benadryl and steroids for at least 24 hours so that it doesn’t happen again.  You cannot run 16km on Benadryl. Try it, I dare you. (I don’t actually its probably pretty dangerous). I feel like if you can’t drive or operate heavy machinery, you shouldn’t be running.

So today I geared up, it was drizzling but that wasn’t going to stop me. I got 2 km out with my Garmin, rain jacket, hat, mitts, compression socks, tank, running pants, and shoes and it started to pour. And I mean POUR.

photo 1

The man in the sweat pants is soaked.

So I had prepared for this, and I brought my bus pass so I could go on to the gym in case this happened and finish my run. So I waited for the bus stop, and made it to my YMCA.

Where I realized my gym pass was (can you guess?) at home. A 15 minute bus ride back where I came from.  I didn’t have ID either (I carry an id card that has my name, allergies, blood type and emergency contact but they didn’t accept that as proof I was who I was).

photo 2

This is my “I’m soaking wet and not from sweat and I am not amused because I am still tired from the hospital” face. That face took herself to bed for a sweet nap, because as soon as she got back inside, it starting thundering and lightning outside. *le sigh*

I’m getting tired of hitting roadblocks, both mentally and physically. Today I tried to psych myself up but that didn’t work either. So new plan. I wrote out a training schedule for the last three weeks and I’m going to read my positive mantras to myself every morning.

Even if I have to walk most of it

I WILL NOT LET THIS HALF MARATHON BEAT ME.

Even if it is cursed. I will proudly wear that cursed medal everywhere I go!

Congratulations to the winners, and I hope none of you visit a hospital this week or encounter a run you can’t complete!

14 responses to “Winners and the cursed half marathon

  1. WOW, you do have quit the track record with surprises. Glad to hear you are going to keep on truckin along. 🙂

  2. Oh man, no fun with all of the unlucky things happening. Good luck!

  3. Wow! So glad your visit to emerg turned out all right! Very scary… so excited about winning the bow ties! I will email you now!

  4. I’m sorry to hear about your allergies and your trip to the emergency room. That is no good. 😦 I hope you’re feeling better.

    Good attitude towards your 1/2 marathon! If you keep up the attitude of “this half marathon won’t beat me” then you’ll do GREAT!!!

    • The ER sucked and the last few days I’ve almost been afraid to eat food I haven’t prepared myself — but I am feeling better (minus whatever cold I caught in the ER). I am trying to keep my determined attitude going strong — thank you so much for the support!

  5. I was wondering what the story was! I’m so sorry Amalia, that sucks :-(. But you will do that half, and well. It’s amazing what happens on race day. Run when you can, and trust that it will carry you through. xx

    • I also caught a cold, most likely from my foray into Hospital Land. But it will happen, I’m so freaking determined! Thanks Kate – I look forward to telling you alll about the medal, and how I finished and did not get picked up by the 3:30 pace golf cart!

Leave a Reply

