Big News!

Hey guys! Most of you already know what the news is, but here’s a little video to help you out if you haven’t seen it yet. Let’s make this official!

When I posted to ask you what you thought my big news could be, a lot of you came up with great responses I didn’t even think of.  My favourite is that Manfriend proposed. TRUST ME — when that happens, you will know right away. There will be no game playing with that one!

So what does it mean to be a Sweatpink ambassador?  I will take you through why I applied. Everything in italics comes directly from FitApproach, the organization that runs the whole Sweatpink community.

Do you have a passion for inspiring others on their journeys to health? Do you believe that strong is the new skinny, pink is the new black, and that a positive attitude and whole foods are a healthier route to happiness than self-loathing and 100-calorie snack packs?

The answer to all that is Yes, YEs, YES! I have found so much happiness and awareness from beginning my journey to being fit (and I’ve lost ten pounds along the way, just from eating moderately and exercising regularly), and I cannot wait to share that passion in this new capacity.

It’s a well documented fact that I love pink (have you seen my shoes?)

And a positive attitude and whole foods is much better than self-loathing and 100-calorie snack packs. I know because I was there. Beating yourself up over every missed gym date or snack that you “should have done” or “shouldn’t have had” is not a way to love yourself. This community is all about loving ourselves, and I’m so proud to be able to represent that!

Sweat pink ambassadors are enthusiastic health nuts (but we also appreciate fine cheese and wine), curious about new workouts and foods and trying new things, and passionate.

To find out more, or to apply to be an ambassador yourself, click here

“We believe that kicking ass is best done in pretty shoes. We’ve learned that real women sweat, and sweat hard. We know that assertiveness, strength, and ambition are the ultimate feminine qualities. We concede that sometimes it takes hours to get ready, but we’re also no strangers to just rolling out of bed and going. We’re convinced that we run faster in pink shoelaces. We believe in pushing ourselves, and we believe in giving ourselves a break, too. We’re all about the rush of endorphins and the thrill of the challenge. We’re all for looking great and feeling even better. We’re committed to finding our best fit, and making it stick.” – Fit Approach Website

So Today, Let’s Celebrate.

As I asked in the video, what’s your greatest achievement of the last 8-10months? 8-10 months ago I was okay. I was in good shape mentally, feeling pretty positive about myself but something was missing. When one of my best friends suggested we run a 5km together and challenged me to do it, I accepted it like never before. Why? Because I was pretty sure I couldn’t do it, and I wanted to prove myself wrong. I’ve never wanted to prove myself wrong so badly.

I got up off the couch.  That’s accomplishment number one.

I kept getting up off the couch. I ran my first 5km and loved it, signed up for another, and then a 10km, and then a half marathon. And I’m still going. That’s accomplishment number two.

Then I stepped out of my comfort zone and moved across a country (literally) and started feeling independence that I never felt before. I know roads here from running or biking, not driving. I have climbed mountains and met new people.

I have run 5km straight through. That’s accomplishment number three.

I have let go of people and experiences from the past who were holding me back. Didn’t forget about them, just acknowledged their existence and chose to move forward.

And I’m proud to say I’m happier and stronger than ever. And ten pounds lighter. Which wasn’t a goal, but is something I’m happy to count as accomplishment number four.

And now I’m a Sweat Pink Ambassador — Number Five

Where can we go from here? The sky is the limit. So tell me, what are you proud of today? Let’s celebrate you.

11 responses to “Big News!

  1. Hey Amalia! I’ve been checking out your blog every now and again! I feel like we’re living congruent lives just provinces apart haha. Congratulations on being named a Sweat Pink Ambassador! As for your question: I was not too fit this time last year, or even 5 months ago… and recently ran my first half marathon! Now I’m thinking of running another one…so that’s what I’m proud of!

    • I saw that!!! How awesome! Thanks for commenting – I really appreciate it! I feel like we are living congruent lives! Any advice for my first half? And I’m so glad you are doing well !!!!

  2. I saw your comment about running Disney Marathon! I am too!! It will be my first and last… lol.

  3. Welcome to the club! And congrats on kicking goals 😀

  4. That is so exciting! Congratulations! I didn’t used to be a runner or exerciser at all..I spent most of my life doing competition dancing and then when I graduated high school I started smoking and eating crap and drinking and ya know how that goes. Well when I was 28, I quit smoking, started running, eating better, I still drink but definitely in moderation and not as much and I feel so much better every day! One thing I never thought I would ever do is run a half marathon and in 2 weeks I will be running #6! I am so proud of that!
    Congratulations again and good luck in your half marathon training!

  5. YAY! Welcome to the family!! YAHOO!! SWEAT PINK BAYBAYYY! Congratulations!! I am sooo excited that you are running the DWorld half!! You are going to LOVEE IT!! Such an amazing experience to run Disney!!

Leave a Reply

