What I’ve Learned From You – 500 follower giveaway

500.

Wow! All I can say is thank you for following my tweets and reading my blog and for just being a part of this awesome running, eating and living community.  In celebration of my 500th twitter follower, I am hosting a giveaway today!

Part of the reason I wanted to hold a giveaway is because I have learned so much from all of you, and I want to give back.  Whether I am asking for advice on how to run early, asking a question about what “MP” or “GP” or “PR” stands for, or trying to decide what to eat that isn’t going to ruin my daily calorie count, you have all been there for support, to answer the silly questions, and to recommend great food or help me realize that sometimes messing up a workout or a day is just what we need.

So, without further ado, here is my very first blog giveaway!

What I’ve Learned Blog Giveaway

1. Snack healthy

I may have come on to twitter with the idea that everybody who was fit was on an incredible diet. That everybody who was fit constantly ate their vegetables and never, ever had a piece of chocolate. However, everyone I’ve talked to has said its important to snack, but snack healthy.  I am a sucker for chocolate and with your help have found my most favourite things in the whole world. Giddy Yoyo Chocolate! You can find their website here.  I am in love with their 100 percent organic, original raw chocolate (75% dark) at 99 calories for four squares of chocolate.  That is why this giveaway includes two organic original raw chocolat(e) bars from giddy yoyo

2. Fueling a workout properly is important

When I asked about my first long run on twitter, everyone was giving suggestions on what I should eat, what I should have with me, how to re-fuel, making sure I have water, and most of all, finding something that I like to eat or a gel I really enjoy.  If I have to refuel when I’m about to hit that wall, why would I do it with something that tastes gross?  I found GU gel thanks to all the suggestions, and that’s why this giveaway includes two GU gel packs (I will let the winner know what flavours they can pick from!).

3. The benefits of different lifestyle and eating choices.

I have received such amazing advice from people who are choosing to eat and live different lifestyles. I knew what the difference between being a vegan and vegetarian were before entering the social media sphere, but I had no idea what GF (gluten free) lifestyles or paleo lifestyles were! Being a part of foodie pen pals (you can be a part of foodie penpals too by going here) through Lindsay’s Lean Green Bean blog has really opened my eyes to the wide variety of lifestyles that exist out there.  I now have one day a week where I eat no dairy or meat and when I do, I have a vega smoothie.  Which is why this giveaway includes three vega smoothies (flavours again will be the choice of the winner).


4. I’ve learned a lot about power foods

Like many others in the world the terms “power foods” or “whole foods” meant very little to me before I started this journey through healthy living.  Power foods (from what I understand at this point) are foods that give you the most nutritional benefits, for the least amount of calories, and pack a whopping amount of health benefits.  I still know very little, but what I do know has led me to try some of the most amazing little foods. Which is why this giveaway includes a bag of BC’s very own Skinny B Cereal from Holy Crap (find them here).

Skinny B isn’t as well known a product as the above ones, so I will indulge myself with a little rundown.

Direct from Holy Crap’s website: Skinny B breakfast cereal contains all natural ingredients ( no GMO): organic chia, organic hulled hemp hearts and organic buckwheat. The ingredients are some of the oldest perfect foods known to humans.

Have I mentioned yet that it’s awesome? I have mine in Greek yogurt. These little power foods make my day (quite literally).

5. I’ve learned to take time for me

From the incredible mom bloggers out there who seem to do it all (mad respect for you ladies), to the students who are balancing studies with their running careers (yes, I firmly believe we can call it a career), to the women and men who are in the kitchen spending time making incredible dishes, to the career men and women who make time for it all — you have all taught me on massive, important lesson.  Take Time For You.

So, in honour of all that you do and the incredible balance we strike in life, I am giving away a limited edition 25th anniversary Starbucks gift card with 10.00 CDN loaded on it.  For those days where you really just want to give in and give up, take yourself to Starbucks, use their free wi-fi to do whatever it is you want to do or need to do to feel better (catch up on emails, etc) and have a beverage on me.  The card will work in the US and Canada its just a matter of the exchange rate for how much you will have leftover afterwards.

It is actually a collector’s card so don’t throw it out when you’re done – give it to a barista who collects or keep it for yourself 🙂

So there you have it folks, the giveaway includes:

– two giddy yoyo organic raw chocolat(e) bars
– two GU gels of your flavour choice
– three vega smoothies
– one bag of Skinny B Breakfast Cereal
– 10$ limited edition Starbucks gift card

I’m so excited to give back to you all after all you’ve taught me. I have also learned many other things from you, and hope to continue to learn and grow as a runner, foodie, blogger and person in the next few months as well!

Enough Already – So How Do I Win?

1. This contest is open to US and Canadian residents — please note that although I love my readers from other countries (Peru: shoutout to you J-Lee) I cannot get this massive package further than the US of A. I send you lots of love regardless

2. Leave a comment below about the best piece of learning you have had from your twitter followers or readers — doesn’t have to be a normal thing, can be motivating, food related, whatever. Even if you have learned what not to do.

That’s it! For extra entries (remember to leave a comment below for each)

1. Follow me on twitter!  @ama_liab (If you already do, that counts)
2. Tweet the following:  I just entered to win a prize pack from @ama_liab and so can you! http://wp.me/p1Dypt-aB
3. Like my new (brand spanking new!) Facebook page.

The winner will be drawn with help from Randomizer.org

The giveaway will close on Monday August 20th, 8:59pm PDT (so 11:59pm EST)

Allergy note: Some of the products in this giveaway contain common allergens. It is the winner’s responsibility to determine whether or not the products are safe for them to eat.  Please read all labels carefully!

35 responses to “What I’ve Learned From You – 500 follower giveaway

  1. I’m still pretty new to Twitter but there are two things that I’ve learned from my followers (and those I follow): 1) A sense of humor is key; especially in hash tags! 2) How wonderfully supportive the twitter community is! LOVE IT!

  2. I already follow you on Twitter – congrats on your milestone!

  3. drawing a total mind blank on anything good I’ve learned, although I’m sure there is tons and tons…

  4. I definitely learned that everyone has the struggles I feel at times too! Not alone 🙂

  5. I follow you on twitter!

  6. I tweeted 🙂

  7. Hello. Would you be interested in writing 5 suggestions for my blog http://www.5thingstodotoday.com? Would be great if you could and I will give a link back to yours.

  8. I recently learned about food combining from Bex at BexLife and it was a total lightbulb moment for me! After reading the excerpt from her book, I did some googling and now STRICTLY follow this food practice. my stomach is always so happy, it helps me eat super healthy with ease and it just really made sense with my lifestyle. if you haven’t checked it out yet, get googling!

  9. I enjoy discovering new recipes and cooking ideas like making oats in a jar for breakfast or whipping up some quinoa for breakfast too! Who knew there were so many healthy innovative minds out there! Thanks for sharing and congratulations!

  10. That’s ok, we forgive you! It’s a great idea though – hope you get lost of responses!

  11. I tweeted about your giveaway

  12. I follow you on Twitter, great giveaway!

  13. I have learned a lot about proper eating and fueling for running from my twitter friends!

  14. What I learned from my new blogging & twitter friends is that you can always find the motivation to workout when you have a near constant feed of people being and sharing being healthy. .

  15. I enjoy reading WIAW posts that come out every Wednesday on what people eat in a day. Also I have discovered a lot of new food brands and products too!

  16. I follow you on Twitter now! serene_streams

  17. I tweeted your link too! Thanks so much!

  18. I love learning about new healthy recipes!
    I follow you on twitter and I am tweeting right now!

  19. Pingback: Picto-vation! « Live. Travel. Eat. Run

  20. 🙂 I follow you, tweeted your link AND I’m going to like your page.

  21. Also – I’ve learned that my Twitter friends can be the biggest source of inspiration.

  22. I’ve learned healthy cooking doesn’t have to be a complicated, disgusting challenge!

  23. I’ve learned a lot — just today I read that Kashi is 100% GMO :*(

    ~Kelly
    http://www.leafynotbeefy.com

  24. I like you on Facebook (https://www.facebook.com/LeafyNotBeefy is mine) and I’ll share your page on mine to hopefully get you even more likes.

    ~Kelly
    http://www.leafynotbeefy.com

  25. and I just tweeted about the giveaway
    Thanks!

    ~Kelly
    http://www.leafynotbeefy.com

  26. Pingback: So that run we were going to go on… « Live. Travel. Eat. Run

  27. Sarah @momrunningonempty.com

    The most important thing I’ve learned from my tweeps is that I need to learn expect more from myself that I ever thought and to push myself but also that if I don’t succeed on the first go round, I wil have their support as I go at it again :).

  28. Sarah @momrunningonempty.com

    I already follow you in twitter!!

  29. Sarah @momrunningonempty.com

    I already like your fb page 🙂

  30. I’ve learned that you have to be able to laugh at yourself!
    My training buddy and I were running, I tripped and fell, got pretty banged up, but we BOTH were “pausing workout” on our apps before tending to the fall!

  31. Hmmm. I’ve got to say you pretty much nailed it. I guess my journey has led me to the best realization about runners, mostly. They are the most friendly, generous and helpful people I’ve ever known. It’s a good club, not like Fight Club, where everybody has to get the snot beat out of them….. Oh wait. We do that to ourselves. But we like it. Runners are weird!!

    🙂

Leave a Reply

